heart it

Knit today on double-pointed needles! Pattern found here. I also discovered a brilliant photo tutorial on flickr for doing a figure 8 cast-on… it’s like magic, people! So the entire heart is knit in one piece, from the bottom point up, in the round. At the end, you kitchener stitch each of the top sides, and then stuff some cotton inside and close the teeny hole in the middle. (You can use your yarn ends to do this, which I read in the instructions after cutting my yarn ends allllmost too short! eep!)

I love love love them. I made the smaller version, and am going to make the larger one and maybe some cute ones in other colours too. I can’t remember what yarn I used: it’s Red Heart maybe, and it’s pastel colours so maybe it was a ‘baby’ kind of yarn.

{PS: the background of the last photo is some printable gift tags – free!- which I found here via How About Orange. Too cute!!}

{PPS: I’ve been using the ‘winterize’ effect on Picnik for my photos lately… I like the washed-out look it gives}

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

