and then I knit a top

It is the Razor Cami pattern, on Ravelry and also found here. I knit the thing in a few weeks, sporadically, between the packing and the house-tidying. I should have use ribbing along the front neckline edge, as it came out a bit loose, but I’m hoping a wash might fix that. If not, tant pis.

Luckily I just happened to have the right size circular needle (3.5 mm) for the yarn I chose, and I kept to the pattern exactly. My yarn being thicker yielded a size medium, rather than the extra-small in the pattern, while still keeping to 156 stitches cast on.

The worst part was that when I split the thing to work on just the front, I kept the back half on two stitch holders (I only have small ones). When I cast off the front half, I had the genius idea of trying it on. Squeezing it over my head and shoulders, I was pleased to find that it fit. Then one of the stitch holders n the back popped open (!) and I lost 2-ish rows of random stitches from the middle. *ahem* Trying on a piece mid-knit did not work for me.

What else? We watched Enduring Love, and it turned out that the movie differed from the book in other ways than just Daniel Craig being cast as the lead. It was, in fact, almost entirely not like the book at all. Good movie, just not what I expected. (Also of note was the actor who played Jed. Does he, or does he not remind you of a creepy, mildly scuzzy Brit version of Owen Wilson??)

I was also convinced to watch Batman Begins, as a prelude in case we decide to go see the new one in theatres. Okay, what?! No Robin? No “holy electrons Batman, they’re in the particle accelerator!”? No “KA-POW!”?? I couldn’t quite reconcile it with dear old paunchy Adam West, and that wonderful 60s theme music.

[Okay, as an entirely unplanned but nonetheless fabulous aside, I was just looking up Batman on imdb.com, in an attempt to find a suitable paunchy pic of him. Then, I came across this gem of dialogue from the TV series…

Batman: [reading a riddle] What has yellow skin and writes?
Robin: A ball-point banana!
Batman: [reads the second riddle] What people are always in a hurry?
Robin: Rushing people… Russians!
Batman: So this means…
Robin: Someone Russian is going to slip on a banana and break their neck!
Batman: Precisely, Robin!

How can I be blamed for wanting more of that?]

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

