ripples of happiness

The Ripple Blankie is complete! Started in January (really??) and recently spurred on to completion with a Ravelry Crochet-Along, this blanket has been a long time coming.

Here it is on the (new!) couch:

ripple + couch

Ah… lovely soft cotton. I already mentioned that I was using up odds and ends of Bernat Handicrafter cotton, and that I ended up having to purchase more (well, the pound bag only cost $5) as I seem to have this problem with estimating the size of project I can complete with an amount of yarn.

Once I finished the last ball of the cream colour, I did two rows of blue (using my unravelled-as-I-went Lace Ribbon scarf, which did not warrant keeping) and called it a day.

It’s much narrower than it is tall, and can fit lengthwise across the double bed perfectly, just hanging over either end. I think it will come in handy during cooler nights to warm our feet, as well as on the couch for marathon movie sessions.

folded ripple

Oh, and Leela loves it as well…

blanket Leela

Things I have learned while working on this project:

  1. Crocheting is sooo much easier to rip back than knitting. I’ve only been crocheting since the beginning of the year, but wow have I ever had an easy time ripping it back. I must have done the first few rows of this Easy Ripple five times before getting the stitch pattern right. And every time I ripped back, I marvelled at the ease and neatness of it.
  2. Mistakes happen, but are easily masked by the large size of a blanket. My stitch count was seldom consistent (I can’t stand counting stitches row by row!) but the overall effect is still impressive. I let myself get into the relaxing rhythm of rippling, and whenever I noticed I had extra stitches (or not enough) between repeats, I’d just decrease one (or two or three!), or add one in, as needed.
  3. Never underestimate the amount of yarn needed for a blanket. When I started this, I was overly confident that the two 400 g rather large balls of cotton I had would be more than enough. Then I found myself unravelling previous (unsuccessful) projects and buying new yarn to finish it.
  4. I like that with crochet, every row has the potential to be your bind-off row. When you aren’t sure how many rows you can finish with the amount of yarn you have left, it’s nice that you don’t have to start a specific bind-off row (as you do with knitting)– each row itself is neatly finished as you go! Miraculous!
  5. I will be making more ripple blankets in the future– just have to go out and buy more yarn… hmm…

I’ll leave off with a close-up shot of the lovely stitch definition!

ripple stitches

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

