getting ready for camping!

(source)

HOLIDAYS!! This is only my second camping trip ever, so I’m definitely not a camping veteran… but I am pretty excited! We leave this Sunday morning and stay two nights, coming home Tuesday. We’re sleeping in a real tent and everything, yikes! But it’s a large tent, so it should be good.

I’m already starting to think about what books I want to take along with me… I’ve decided on tried-and-true re-reads, because i: I don’t really want to spend the money on new books right now, and ii: there’s something homey and comforting about re-reading old favourites, and I think I will feel less homesick with some familiar books.

So here’s my three so far (I know, we’ll only be gone three days, but I want to have a selection so I can read whatever my mood dictates!):

  1. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym … because it has to be one of my all-time favourites, but unlike Jane Eyre it is nice and slim and easily portable! I’ve read it maybe three or four times…  but not recently. I’m looking forward to getting back into the world of Mildred, and Everard Bone.
  2. The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella … because I also might feel like a bit of a no-brainer, a light read that will make me smile. I’ve only read it one time, but it actually is worth another read. I certainly identify with being not-the-greatest at cooking, heehee.
  3. The Blue Castle by Lucy Maud Montgomery … I don’t know how popular she is outside of Canada, but this book is amazing. I’ve read it countless times since I was a kid, and I don’t ever get tired of it. Apparently I think I’ll be in a romantic mood, judging from my book selection, but this one really suits camping, because of all of the beautiful descriptions of the island. Love it!

Anyways, starting tomorrow I’m off for a whole week! Yaaay!! xo

(PS: we have friends coming over to stay at our place and look after the kitties while we’re away )

Share

8 thoughts on “getting ready for camping!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention getting ready for camping! « bird on a pencil -- Topsy.com

    • Yes, haha. I looove Quartet, but I can only reread it when I’m in the mood for crying. So beautiful though.

      PS- yes, I chose “pymette” because I ♥ Miss Pym :) Her writing is ideal

  2. I assure you, Lucy Maud Montgomery is a favotite outside of Canada! Of course, I’m from Michigan, so some people call that Canada, but my friends and I grew up on LMM!!!

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

