web browsers, fonts & other stuff

Okay, so I’m having a bit of a dilemma: what web browser to use now that I’ve down-graded to Windows XP. I was using Firefox on my laptop, and loving it… one of my favourite features (I’m all about personalizing and making my online experience look pretty ♥) was Personas, which is like a waaaay better version of choosing a “colour scheme” for your windows (colour schemes are fine and all, but I loved having little birds up above my browser bar. They’re cuter, right?) With Personas you can even choose ones from your favourite TV shows (Sue Sylvester persona, anyone?) or fashion designers.

Anyways, so what’s my problem? Well, I’m a bit obsessive about fonts, and I sadly noticed that on my Windows XP desktop, fonts for certain websites (including, yikes, this one… my own blog!!) are showing up “differently” than they did on my Vista laptop.

The worst part is that it’s not even really changing the font, it’s just making each letter kind of pixelly and uneven. The opposite of smooth lettering. So I previewed in Internet Explorer, and noticed the fonts looked smoother. (Gah! But I realllly dislike IE and its annoying affiliation with the Yahoo Toolbar). So then Himself made two other suggestions: Google Chrome, or Opera.

Opera is supposed to be lightning fast, but it’s obviously developed by (and for) people who don’t reallly want to personalize their browser in a “cute” way (seeing as most of the “skins” you can apply are things like “Red Evil” and “Dark Glass”… ick). So… because of that (and also because the Menu button in the top left wouldn’t go away, and remains a shade of dark red no matter what “skin” you apply. And I am not a fan of random dark red areas on my browser windows, okay) and because the fonts still previewed choppily, I tried Google Chrome.

I’m currently testing it out and not minding it that much… on some pages the fonts look a bit smoother, but IE is still the closest to what I was used to. Anyways, Google Chrome does have a set of themes you can choose from (nowhere near as extensive as Firefox though… I spent hours browsing their personas on multiple occasions haha) and I’m trying out the Caroline Gardner one right now which in spite of the strange acidyellowgreen tab colour, I sort of like. The tabs at the top look like file folders, which is kind of neat. But what the?? I want my smooth fonts back. So sad.

So anyways, what browsers do you use? And why? Is anyone else preoccupied with making their online experience as freaking cute as possible? Why not, right?

And if you are interested in extreme cuteness (for free), and for some reason you haven’t stumbled across this awesome site yet, let me direct you to pixelgirl presents. I got my adorable desktop, as well as a couple of icon sets (la patisserie & also some kawaii girls) from there. There’s even some non-sickeningly-sweet stuff too, if miniature croissants and cupcakes with eyes aren’t your thing, haha. The best part about the desktops is that you can search by screen resolution, so you don’t have to worry about choosing one that you have to “stretch”, or horrors, tile to fit your screen. (A pet peeve: seeing someone with a photo on their desktop that is repeatedly tiled to cover the space. Apologies if you are looking at your beloved tiled desktop right now. I’m sure yours is lovely, really!)  After careful consideration I chose this one, because I don’t like a dark background where you can’t see all the icons on your desktop. Plus hello, a pink lamb? Suuuper love! heehee.

2 thoughts on “web browsers, fonts & other stuff

  1. Not sure if you’ll like it or not but digitalblasphemy.com has a few free desktop pics that I just love. I have each of the free ones on different computers in my dept. I love them all.

    I am all for personalization but fonts aren’t really a biggy for me. I like certain ones but if I can’t have them it doesn’t bother me. Now desktop pics are a different thing entirely. :o) (And I am all Vista)

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

