a fresh look

Hello! I’ve taken a break from blogging for over a year, mostly due to blog overload from while I was planning my wedding last year. Since then, I’ve freshened up the look of this page, dusted off some of my old links and added new ones (I joined Goodreads, and you can read along with me by clicking the link to the right; and below that a button that links to my boards on Pinterest).

I haven’t really decided what I want to write about, but I’ve been in an introspective place lately and am wanting to put my thoughts out into the universe. So I will!

At the moment, I’m attempting to figure out what my path in life will be… work-wise, and more specifically career-wise. The impending 30th birthday at the end of December is prompting me to examine and re-evaluate my job. I’ve read some inspirational books, two that I enjoyed most (in case anyone else is in the same boat) were The Firestarter Sessions by Danielle Laporte, and Steering By Starlight by Martha Beck (who if you haven’t heard writes a monthly column for Ms Oprah herself. But we all have to make a living somehow…)

If you have any recommendations for similar reads, I’d love to hear them.

Most of all what I got out of them was: you can choose to wallow in storylines about the past or the future, or you can focus on the present moment. If you focus on the present, you can make small choices that promote happiness, and remove the things in your life that cause nothing but irritation (in my case, my current job).

So, I’m working on that. And I’m liking the feeling of possibility that I’ve opened up.

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

