right now

 

Currently just got back from doing some grocery shopping, and am sitting with my laptop in the living-room. We’ve been teaching the cats that candles are not to play with. So far so good, but one of us always has to be in the room when we’ve got candles on. They are both pumpkin-scented candles, which suits the fall just fine.

It’s been a long week at work, so I’m super-glad tomorrow is Friday and I have a weekend of relaxing ahead of me. I’m reading Rebel Angels (yes, okay… I’m becoming obsessive with Libba Bray’s books. But they’re worth the obsession. And if you’ve read A Great And Terrible Beauty and weren’t completely consumed with love, well, neither was I. But after finishing The Diviners this weekend, I decided to continue with the Gemma Doyle trilogy, and I’ve not been disappointed. The second book is better than the first, in my opinion).  I plan to squeeze in some good reading time over the weekend!

Thursday nights are also my embarrassing  guilty-pleasure show on tv – Beauty and the Beast. Yep. I’ll admit it, I’m loving it. It doesn’t hurt that the “beast” really only has a scar on one side of his non-beast face, and is not actually a monstery-creature all of the time. But seriously, the show is way less cheese-ball than I expected. There’s fist fights and everything. And mysteries to solve, if you don’t turn on your Agatha-Christie brains.

And right now I’m listening to Alexander Ebert, specifically A Million Years and Truth, which are on constant repeat in my car. Why can’t we have an awesome radio station that plays stuff like this? (she asks the world, not expecting any answer). His music videos are worth a watch, too, for some beautiful videography.

I’m still thinking a lot about time, and how obsessive we can become with the past/future. It’s too easy to forget that there’s some pretty exciting stuff going on right now, isn’t it? Even just sitting here listening to music with the candles on in the background. The physical world is just what we experience on the macroscopic level, but at the heart of things, no one even knows for sure what the heck is going on. I love that. Uncertainty is my favourite part about non-Newtonian physics. And that makes me marvel at how crazy it is that I can be here, typing this post, and the rest of the world is existing at the same time, and we don’t even have to do anything else but just be.

Have a great weekend, all!

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

