friday musings

Image

There is a weird phenomenon that goes on regarding time- when I’m at work, the time seems to pass realllly slowly, but then all of a sudden I notice an entire week has passed! It’s a bit disconcerting, but I’m planning to focus on enjoying the weekend, rather than being too spooked by the way time flies.

This photo was taken at the Bay of Fundy National Park, in New Brunswick. I haven’t been taking many exciting photos lately, which is why I’m sharing some honeymoon trip ones. We only stopped for a short time at the park, which you can drive through free of charge. You can see these great clouds on the tops of the trees, and we actually witnessed, in real time, the clouds “rolling in”. I’ve never seen that before, or since.

Today I started reading Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus; I feel a bit like the last person in the world to read it. In Canada, our biggest bookseller is Chapters/Indigo, and they’ve been recommending this book to high heaven for the past year. Heather, of the Oprah-esque Heather’s Picks, picked this one right when it was published. I often hesitate with the “picks”, finding that they’re not really my style.

So I’d been considering reading this one from the library, but hadn’t gotten around to it yet. The other day I found a used copy and picked it up. At $3, even if it was crap, I was willing to take the chance. Also it has lovely styling. Some of the pages have illustrations, the inside cover is striped in black and white, and I really love the cover. Good eye candy, even if the book wasn’t amazing.

I started reading it, and had to force myself to put it down, because I don’t want to finish too quickly! I’m only about a third of the way in, but I love it. There are parts told in the second-person, so you are put into the story. It’s wonderful.

This book and I have a date for tomorrow, at least while Himself is at work. This weekend, he has Sunday off, so we’re planning to take a day trip and see our parents. Also start a teeny but of holiday shopping and browsing. There hasn’t been a spot of snow that’s stayed on the ground as yet, just the occasional flurry, so it doesn’t feel particularly Christmassy yet. Here’s to a lovely weekend full of nice weather!

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

