my to-read list

I am super-excited about tons of books that are either just released, or are being published in the near future. Here are some of the most pressing “to-read”s on my list:

  • Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor. This one is sitting on my table, having just been delivered last week. But I’m in the middle of two other library books, so it’s been put on hold for the time being. However, due to the feeling of overwhelming love I had for the first book, I am feeling pretty excited about this one.
  • Light by Michael Grant. It’s the final book in his Gone series, which I devoured– I mean, read, this year. I read the first five within weeks of each other, so I am not keen on having to wait until April 2013 for this one… but I will. This series is a fast-paced dystopian set immediately after a weird ‘event’ causes everyone aged 15 and under in  Perdido Beach, California to be encased in a strange dome. The books are raved about by Stephen King, so you know you’re getting a brutal, gripping read.
  • Quicksilver by R.J. Anderson. (she’s Canadian!) This is the sequel to Ultraviolet, which was a book about synethesia, or the effect of being able to feel/taste/hear colours and numbers and things you usually only experience through sight. It’s a real phenomenon, and I really enjoyed reading about it. The first book was incredibly mysterious, and I look forward to seeing how the story will continue!
  • Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. I don’t really know much about this one other than it’s a book about books, and book-selling. And it’s received a lot of praise on Goodreads from people whose tastes are similar to my own. I’ve got it on hold at the library as well, but am waiting patiently for it to come in…
  • Reached by Allie Condie. It’s the third in her Matched series, and while I wasn’t ecstatic about either book one or two, I do like to finish a series conclusively. I saw it on the shelf at a bookstore today, so it’s finally out- I have hopes that things will be tied up, but am not sure. It’s another dystopian series, but there were certain interesting bits of her world that kept me interested (such as the destruction of most art, keeping only the Top 100 pieces of all time – curated of course by certain high-up individuals with their own agenda). 

I spent time in two different bookstores while out shopping today, and I managed to resist purchasing anything, which was a real feat! Now I’m off to make a dent in those two library books… enjoy your Sunday night!

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

