book review: days of blood and starlight

Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #2)Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Iiiiit’s: incoherent review time! I can’t do this book justice by reviewing it properly, so I may just go on a fan-rant. And that’s okay.

So… second book. I only just read the first book this summer, and so I haven’t had to wait as long as everyone else for this one. But still, with a stunner like Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I was absolutely nail-bitingly worried in case this second one didn’t live up to my expectations.

I shouldn’t have worried.

This book was fabulous! Demons. Angels. Chimaera. Blue Hair. Violins. Thuribles. Morocco. Eretz. Just… everything I could have wanted was in this book. I did find the beginning to be sliiiightly on the slow side, but that was just the part before Karou shows up again. Because, hello, I love reading about Zuze and Mik (really! they are hilarious), and Akiva of course, but where’s Karou?? Was what I was mentally screaming for the first little bit.

Things got wonderful pretty soon after that, and in fact once Zuzana and Mik arrive in Morocco, I was loving every page.

It was an almost entirely different book than the first one, which could have meant that it wasn’t as good. But in its own way, the incredible epic war raging between the Seraphim and Chimaera was just as interesting to read about as the magical times in Prague from book one.

This book had more heartbreak, more death, and more brutality. Every time Karou mentioned tithing, or those awful vises, I cringed. And there were small scenes that really stuck out in horror, such as (view spoiler)[ Ziri being force-fed the ashes of his dead comrades (hide spoiler)].

The characters: many old favourites returned, with one marked absence (view spoiler)[BRIMSTONE! BRING HIM BACK SOMEHOW PLEASE!! (hide spoiler)] The new characters, like the Kirin sisters, Ziri, etc. were for the most part delightful. I tend to favour the chimaera, but learned to respect Akiva’s brother and sister more, as well as a few select angels.

The evils were particularly evil in this book. Jael was terrible, as was Thiago. I think that the ending was both heartbreaking and wonderful, since it leaves both sides with the chance of vindication.

The end was also a huuuge cliffhanger, and from what I’ve seen online we’ll have a ways to wait before we get to the third book.

Actually, that’s okay, since it will give me some more time to come to terms with (and definitely re-read) the first two books. More Karou!

View all my reviews

ps: to view any spoilers, just click “view spoiler” while reading the review on goodreads :)

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

