book review: mr. penumbra’s 24-hour bookstore

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour BookstoreMr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fantastic, what a whirlwind!! This book is so happy and uplifting. I love how it melds past and present, old tech and new, and shows that it doesn’t have to be all one way or all the other. An old lady turns out to have been one of the first computer programmers; a guy builds miniature cityscapes from tinfoil and paper; Google can solve the deepest conundrum in 23 minutes…

This book was so enjoyable that I literally didn’t put it down until I finished- all in one go. It captivated me from the beginning, and kept me hooked all the way through to the wonderful end.

If I lived in San Francisco, I would totally work the afternoon shift (I’m not a night owl) at Mr Penumbra’s.

Also, did anyone else notice that the acronym for the Con U, when you use all of the first letters, spells CULTS? Haha. I don’t even know if that was on purpose, but I loved it.

I feel like this is a Da Vinci code for book-lovers, font-a-holics, and weird Google employees. If Oprah knew anything about the print industry, I’m sure she’d put this on her list. ;)

View all my reviews

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

