book review: eve and adam

Eve and AdamEve and Adam by Michael Grant

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Eve and Adam was a quick, enjoyable read. It’s told from the point of view of Eve, a seventeen-year-old girl who’s just been in a terrible accident, and is recovering (oddly quickly) at her mother’s enormous research lab; Solo, the boy who’s lived at the research facility for eleven years, doing odd jobs and studying up on the lab’s secrets; and one other surprising character.

When Eve discovers that her many wounds are healing super-quickly, it’s only the beginning of the discoveries she, along with Solo and her awesome friend Aislin, will make. There are twists, turns, and surprising reveals along the way — two of which had me actually put the book down and exclaim: “What the what??!!” to my cats.

Oh, and Eve is also tasked with a pretty cool project from her mom… creating the perfect boy, using some lab software that makes genetics easy as pie. But the results of her programming are unexpected as well.

I really loved Aislin. She was a pretty well-developed character, with lifelike flaws and a no-holds-barred attitude. Solo was very endearing as well, and I enjoyed reading the chapters from his perspective. Oddly, I didn’t find myself connecting with Eve as much. She was interesting; just not my favourite character. (view spoiler)[Adam turned out pretty much as expected, once you come to terms with the fact that, you know, he just came into being artificially. (hide spoiler)]

My favourite part of the plot was the unexpected twists. I honestly didn’t see the end coming, which was pleasant, as I do like being surprised. But it wrapped up pretty quickly, to be honest I kept thinking as I saw how few pages were left: is this part of a series? Pleeease don’t tell me this is book one of a series; I thought this was a standalone! But nope… it just kind of… ends. Not in a bad way, but I could have done with a chapter or two more with some resolution.

Overall, I would recommend it to someone looking for a fast-paced, lab-mystery style story. As long as the odd, computer-y font doesn’t bother you. (I prefer traditional typesetting, but that’s just me. Too easily distracted by new fonts, haha).

View all my reviews

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

