book review: lullaby

Lullaby (Watersong, #2)Lullaby by Amanda Hocking

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was between a 2.5 and 3 star read for me. I can’t really explain it- while there’s nothing that stands out for me in these books, they are such easy reads! Once again, I found myself finishing this in a matter of days, without even noticing.

This book takes off right from the end of the first one, with Gemma having left home and Harper, her practical older sister, attempting to find her. The plot wasn’t anything overly exciting- Harper and Daniel (who are finally starting a relationship, but who are a bit more annoying in this book than I found them in the first one, mainly due to Harper’s odd refusal to start a relationship while searching for her sister. Come on- who turns down companionship when they’re dealing with this kind of craziness? You’d think she’d be grateful for the kind words and affection…), along with Gemma’s boyfriend Alex, research the strange bird-monster-mermaid creatures they witnessed, and come to the conclusion that Gemma’s been turned into a siren. They attempt to find, and rescue Gemma, as well as theorizing about how to kill sirens.

Somewhat frustratingly, this book contained less mythology than the first, and was mostly dialogue between characters, with a bit of action every once in a while. The craziest thing that happens is only really referred to reflectively, and doesn’t get described during the story. Not that I wanted a description of the gory event; I’m just emphasizing how very little action there was in the book.

The length of the book was a bit strange as well. I see that there are 2 more books to come, and feel that this one and the next could have perhaps been combined for a more satisfying story.

Anyways, despite the complaints above, I still enjoyed this enough to keep reading, and to begrudgingly mark book 3 as “to-read” when it comes out later this year. However, unless something really perks up in the story, I’m not sure I’ll be going back for book 4.

View all my reviews

One thought on “book review: lullaby

  1. Pingback: book review: tidal (watersong book 3) | bird on a pencil

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

