book review: let the sky fall

Let the Sky FallLet the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Got to read this online for free at pulseit.com (Simon & Schuster’s relaunched teen site)!

I enjoyed this, and would rate it 3.5 stars – the whole sylph idea was really unique and cool! I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this, but found it to be a quick and enjoyable light read. Though what the obsession was with making fun of Canadians (that seemed to be the only purpose for Hannah’s character) I don’t really get. For the record, I’ve never heard anyone pronounce “about” as “aboot”, but I’ll let it go.

The dual point of view fit the story well. There were a lot of sentence fragments, but once I got used to the choppy style it worked as well- most of the narrative is internal monologue, and when you think about it, most of the thoughts in your head are fragmented.

The plot is one where you have to suspend logic in order to be able to enjoy it. For instance, the way that Vane’s adoptive mom immediately reacts to the information that he’s a non-human windwalker is pretty convenient. But the story did keep dragging me in, and I wanted to find out what would happen to Audra and Vane. Audra was likeable, and I think her story can continue in interesting ways. It’s s fast-paced book, without a lot of extraneous descriptive detail.

I was a bit disappointed in the end, but I can see how it’s leaving more for future books, which is a good idea.

The love-story aspect of the book was pretty cute, as well.

Overall, I found this to be fun. And it was really cool to get the chance to read the entire book for free online!

View all my reviews

One thought on “book review: let the sky fall

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

