book review: the bane (the eden trilogy #1)

The Bane (The Eden Trilogy, #1)The Bane by Keary Taylor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was an exciting, fast-paced, post-apocalyptic, cyber-human, bio-engineering-gone wrong book! I really enjoyed it.

The Bane were a scary, fairly believable enemy: the result of bio-engineers giving humans a substance called TorBane, which was supposed to assist them in healing wounds/illnesses, but which instead created cyber-people whose only purpose was to create more of themselves.

The storyline was great, and with the exception of the love triangle (in a group of only 34 people, we’re really expected to believe that TWO men can’t live without Eve??) I enjoyed the entire thing.

Eve is a gutsy, smart heroine, and her narrative is easy to get into and interesting to read. She’s great at survival, but not at emotions. And she’s got some interesting abilities that are linked to her mysterious past (she can’t remember anything prior to age 13, when she was found in the wilderness by the rest of the group of humans who had survived the Evolution of the Bane).

I wish that West had been more of a friend/sidekick character than a second love interest for Eve. I understand the importance of his character, since he knew Eve in her past he can help her discover who she is… but Avian pretty much spoke for himself as a love interest, so… I think Eve shouldn’t have had such a tough decision.

The pacing was great, with hardly any lull time between action and excitement. The end sequence was slightly rushed, but I understand that this is now going to be a trilogy, and am excited to read more!

Thank you to the publishers, who via NetGalley provided me with an e-book for review!

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “book review: the bane (the eden trilogy #1)

  1. Hi, I am Ryan Tyler, writer of Age of Armageddon: The Spirit of Krynn. Your review seemed very thorough. I stumbled across it looking for book blogs. My book from Author Bomb Books came out April 15, 2013, in a horrible coincidence. It is a post apocalypse sci fi fantasy that is the origin of a new super hero and has elements that I think you would like. There is a book giveaway on goodreads and the paperback is available worldwide.

    • Hi Ryan! Your book sounds neat (despite the unfortunate coincidence in timing)- I’ll go check it out on GoodReads now :)

      • Yes I was drawn to your review. It was thorough, yet to the point and I like that. It is exactly the kind of feedback anyone would like to hear and it was a book close to my genre, it got my attention. Hope TSoK is good to you.

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

