arc book review: the testing

The TestingThe Testing by Joelle Charbonneau (publication date June 4, 2013)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

So, this book is one of those books where you keep hearing: “If you love The Hunger Games, you’ll love The Testing!” I did love The Hunger Games, but this book fell a bit flat for me. Let’s be clear- this book felt like a mixture of a variety of other dystopian books I’ve recently read. It’s not without uniqueness, but the story didn’t have anything that really gripped me, and as a result it just wasn’t amazing.

The Testing takes place in the future, after the world experiences various bombings and whatnot, and has rebuilt small colonies in various areas. Teenagers from the colonies strive to be chosen for The Testing- a process which no one knows much about (because their memories are erased after the test is over), but which results in the teens being enrolled in The University, where they have the chance to become important contributors to Society.

Cia is chosen, which at first leads her to be like- woohoo! I’m chosen! But soon after arriving, the deaths start piling up, and the candidates realize that it’s a more brutal process than they were led to believe. This test is not just pen and paper.

So anyways, stage four of The Testing involved candidates being sent out in sort of a survival game, where they have to reach a certain checkpoint in order to complete the Test. This is where the book becomes a bit hunger-games-ish, and I found this part of the book the least interesting, as it was more predictable than I’d have liked.

What I did start to enjoy was the hints that the Test was being monitored in some way (we find out one specific way, but unfortunately that is never actually explained…). And I was actually really getting into the very end, when the candidates who survived stage four have returned, and find out who advances to the University.

But then the book just ended, and I’m honestly not too impressed with how little is resolved. Some of the characters were starting to have interesting twists to their personalities, and it just ends. I’m not sure I want to continue with this series, but I may dip into the next book just out of curiosity.

Thank you to the publishers, who via NetGalley provided me with an advance copy of this book for review!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “arc book review: the testing

    • Yeah… it is such a quick read though, so if you have time try it- it’s possible it just wasn’t for me. (or it’s possible it’s not good. haha) xo leanna

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

