book review: linked

Linked (Linked #1)Linked by Imogen Howson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Linked was a fantastic story! Elissa has visions, glimpses when she sees with someone else’s eyes. And for the past few years, she’s been experiencing mysterious pain and bruising, which no doctors have ever been able to explain.

So when she’s offered the chance to have surgery on her brain that will make her normal again, she is at first excited. Then nervous. Then she makes an unexpected discovery about who and what her visions are linked to, and her whole world changes.

Elissa and Lin are interesting and well-written characters. I liked how in this futuristic world, where space travel is taken for granted, and a multitude of planets have been colonized, something as simple as the concept of twins has been lost for so long, that it seems scary and unreal. I found that the first half of the book, which explored the relationship between the two girls, was really thoughtfully written. Elissa has to constantly question both her own motives, and Lin’s, and it was interesting to read. I liked that the romantic aspect of the book doesn’t start until about two-thirds of the way through. For most of the book I actually thought it would just be Lin and Elissa’s story, and when the male crush showed up it actually surprised me. I like how the romance played out, though. It wasn’t over the top, and it was realistic.

The reveal at the end, where we discover what Spares are actually being used for, was heart-stopping. The visual reminded me of some scenes in science-fiction movies, and I thought it was really descriptively written. The end worked out a bit too easily for my liking, but I appreciate the author’s choice for writing it this way. The end also leaves a bit of open-ness for speculation, which I always enjoy.

Overall, this futuristic book is a thought-provoking look at the relationship between family, and the value of having an identity and a purpose. If you’re looking for a fairly quick-paced, smart adventure in space, give this a go!

View all my reviews

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

