book review: shades of earth (across the universe – book 3)

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The series became less interesting to me as it went on. I wanted to finish reading only to find out what happened at the end to Amy and Elder. This book didn’t hold my interest very much- I enjoyed the books that took place on the spaceship better. Once everyone landed on the new planet, there weren’t very many things that I wanted to read more about.

The twist in this book was much less exciting than the twists at the ends of the first two. The endings of the first two were unpredictable, but in this one I managed to guess early on the Big Secret about one of the characters’ true identity, and then basically nothing else was too surprising.

The ending of the series was a bit of a let-down. When I thought that someone had actually died, I was like- wow, congrats to the gutsy move by the author! Killing off a main character- what is this, Game of Thrones? (Which I liked). But at the very last second, bringing them back into the story, I felt that it was a predictable move. I wouldn’t have minded a more bittersweet ending.

Overall, book 3 was mediocre, but I’m glad to have completed this series.

PS- there are some gross and gruesome scenes in this one! Especially if you are afraid of prehistoric creatures. Which I am.

View all my reviews

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

