book review: prophecy of the sisters

Prophecy of the Sisters (Prophecy of the Sisters, #1)Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

2.5 stars. This book was alright, but somehow throughout the entire thing I was really aware that I was reading, and I didn’t get entirely immersed in the story or the world, which I like to do when reading.

The story follows Lia through her discovery that she and her twin sister Alice are meant to fulfill the Prophecy of the Sisters. Each of them is a Guardian or a Gate, who will choose to either let the evil Souls back into our world forever, or to fight against the Souls and rescue our world.

Reading over the blurb again, it’s like: two sisters, one good, one evil– who will prevail?? Which sounds pretty exciting, only the evil sister barely gets a few lines in the entire book, and most of it was internal dialogue of the ‘good’ sister (Lia) wondering what she should do. Hmf.

It’s interesting in places, but wasn’t really enough to keep me enthralled. There was the opportunity for a similar vibe to Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series, but this book didn’t contain the same mix of magic and storytelling that the other series had.

When I read this, I was thinking it was a standalone book, but – of course- I’ve discovered it’s actually a trilogy. I bought this one on clearance, and today at the library I noticed the other two books were there, so if I do decide to continue reading about the Prophecy at least I know I can borrow them.

Overall I don’t really feel motivated to continue the series. I just wasn’t able to connect with it.

View all my reviews

leave a comment: I'd love to know what you think!

